Recent topics Log in
Search Profile
Memberlist Usergroups
Log in to check your private messages
Register
TTC_JS.html development.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » Strategy » TTC_JS.html development.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 1:17 am    Post subject: TTC_JS.html development.
Reply with quote

http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/TCC_JS.html

You can run it from there or use view / source / save as to run it from your pc or hack at it.
I still have the hyper-drop calc to add on in a day or so as well as the features of the one ingame such as splitting up coord strings from entry into the x coord boxes. , having it appear in right or left st game window frames and etc.
This one however, has the advantage of accepting floating point coords (ex 460.56/491.33/44/69) for calculating mp's for fleets already in warp

Note the multiple web languages used (HTML, VBScript, Java Script) and how they are interfaced with each other.

Note to dinsky: Check out the VB Script and the rest. You can do all that kind of code, including test run and debugging with a text editor and browser as a minimum.

David and I will be implementing these "ST tools" via EXE's and web code. The exe's will be the best by far.
Also coming will be exe support for MacOS, Unix/Linux, OS-2, Windows CE (pocket pc) and Bluetooth cellular tech. as well as Windows Vista 2007.
Support for other browsers (Firefox, etc) is also in the works.
Backwards compatibility issues (from win xp down to win95) have already been solved.

Try that one out, and try to crash it with erroneous input and etc then let me know what happened.

http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/TCC_JS.html
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:18 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

That has been updated. The hyperdrop calc now works.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Vrictus
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 662

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:18 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

im still amazed at how good you 2 are with this kinda thing.

thanks for this.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:17 am    Post subject: lol :p
Reply with quote

I go to a programming convention in San Francisco and return to find Renee as done one herself. DavAlan counts 300 lines of code in that one...wow...
Getting a browser error (invalid object in code) though...will get on that asap and back to the vc program development.
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
T2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 1398
Location: Ontario

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:26 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Vrictus wrote:
im still amazed at how good you 2 are with this kinda thing.

thanks for this.


I agree completely. I hope I can figure out how to apply the "MP" (MH) spent by Dave & Renee in developing and debugging this program.
It is a wonderful gift to the game.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

We have been lagging on these new apps this last week due to a move we are doing, the recent end of a lete winter here (nice sun and surf keeps us outside) and a total dismay from the recent incident at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA. we got a friend there who is ok but, she lost 2 of her friends

TLS sypmathies go out to the students and faculty of Va. Tech. and bad feeling with a college security that would allow someone to murder 2 people, inform the rest of the college via emails (!!!!) then, 2 hr later, the SOB returned to kill 31 more.

The TTC_JS.HTML update will go up in 12 h or so. I got the split coords to work but, disabled the rest of it...I must still be upset I guess
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:11 am    Post subject: Updated posted for TTC_JS.html
Reply with quote

An entire coordinate string can now be entered into the "x" input box (ex. 500/500/50) then clicking outside of that box or tab to change focus then causes the string to break up into the proper boxes as in the ingame ttc and fleet menu entry.

BTW for those downloading this and running from your pc can remove the yahoo bs via view / source and scroll down to delete the following lines:

<!-- text below generated by server. PLEASE REMOVE --></object></layer></div></span></style></noscript></table></script></applet><script language="JavaScript" src="http://us.i1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/mc/mc.js"></script><script language="JavaScript" src="http://geocities.com/js_source/geov2.js"></script><script language="javascript">geovisit();</script><noscript><img src="http://visit.geocities.yahoo.com/visit.gif?us1177369722" alt="setstats" border="0" width="1" height="1"></noscript>
<IMG SRC="http://geo.yahoo.com/serv?s=76001548&t=1177369722&f=us-w65" ALT=1 WIDTH=1 HEIGHT=1>
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:29 am    Post subject: OK that works ;)
Reply with quote

Next step will be to get this to run under firefox (which is currently hanging on the js and vbs mix). And in the ST framework....
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
T2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 1398
Location: Ontario

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:40 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I quit using Firefox when playing ST because of bugs or incompatibality with Java. I will experience freeze-ups and loss of the browser window completely and unable to shut it down by conventional methods. This only happens when I try to open the IRC chat otherwise it works fine.
I am currently using a beta version of Mozilla (relse 1.7.10) and it works the best for me.


Last edited by T2 on Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:45 am; edited 1 time in total
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
-dr0id
Ensign
Ensign


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 9

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:20 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I seem to run it just fine on latest Firefox O_o
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:11 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

you are brilliant

maybe you can add a link back to this forum post and make a small description at the bottom that explains which coords to enter in which field.
i think not everyone understands it so intuitively.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:59 pm    Post subject: Gonna be a delay in update for the next few days...
Reply with quote

David's notebook pc, periphrials and etc got ripped off out of my car in San Francisco this yesterday along with most of our code (which fortunately we saved to our server )

Dav : stop the mtwg !!! now!!! it is eta'ing on the siege on my base, and get to a pc I am not getting any incomings from you (that cell browser wont do it).
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:12 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Got David scouring all SF Bay area pawnshops for his stolen pc. I am busy updating this jscript to provide basic instructions on use.
Any more updates will not come out for another 2 days or so. :S
We took a "little" setback
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:03 pm    Post subject: No luck reneĆ©.
Reply with quote

I really did not expect that to work out, there are over 120 pawnshops in SF alone and most refuse to search for stolen items (corruption to the max).
1 h to the SF airport then 3h to arcata, see you later today. for now.

try using jscript "alert()" to do those instructions

Edit: at sf airport..3h home...cellphone minutes are almost exhausted so, last comm for next 4h or so. Had it working for ST and this forum (the "no frames" checkbox ) but, can only do one at a time (no muliple windows or etc).
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 12:44 am    Post subject: New update...
Reply with quote

Code updated and posted below......
_________________


Last edited by Renee Davis on Wed May 02, 2007 3:04 am; edited 1 time in total
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 2:07 am    Post subject: Nice
Reply with quote

back now...Just keep adding to it and take a break, start the inframe to ST code, and return in 5h...eta to you 3 min...gonna knock this overblown 46 member alliance out of #1 by myself and take a break too.
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 5:53 am    Post subject: More on using this
Reply with quote

This is mostly for the "hyperdrop concept" for those unfamiliar with it.

Ever see those "hyperdrop warnings" in your fleets menu? That means that the fleet listed is passing close to your base on what ever course it is on. If this is done in wormhole or trans warp network hyperwarp then it could "drop out" of hyper (assuming the player does it) and do so perhaps very close to your base with little time remaining to get there.
The way to do this is simply to use the hyperdrop calcualtor to determine this point to "drop out" at. 3 coordinate sets must be entered: the departure, the destination that you set for in hyperwarp and the final desired destination you want to reach. The result will give you the location and time to drop out at in days:hour:minutes:seconds format.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 5:39 pm    Post subject: Language translations needed.....
Reply with quote

For the following in Dutch, French, German (can do most of the Spanish, Portuguese):

Instructions:
1)For standard tcc:
A) Enter departure into top row
B) Enter destination into 2nd row
C) Enter the normal warp (not the hyperwarp) into warp input
D) Enter hyperwarp boost (ex: wh's = 2.5, twn's = 3)
E) Click on calcuate
2) For hyperdrop tcc:
A) Enter departure into top row
B) Enter destination in hyperwarp into 2nd row
C) Enter final desired destination into 3rd row
D) Enter the normal warp (not the hyperwarp) into warp input
E) Enter hyperwarp boost (ex: wh's = 2.5, twn's = 3)
F) Click on Hyperdrop

Also run the functions and translate the output and send that, some time/date formats may vary so, include that as well.

Translations also needed for the above intructions on hyperdrop method.

You may consider replacing the abreviated terms with the actaul (ex TWN->Trans Warp Network) and etc.

Also, if you can, run the VC.exe and translate that output
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
blackmagic
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 1157
Location: GP

 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 11:49 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Now here's an idea for you! Its a tactic I've used only a few times because its kinda hard to do.

I was able to trade ships in midflight after my ships were are different coords. This is a simplest way to cut down time to reconfigure your fleet. Say I attacked a base with my fleet1. My fleet 2 is 1 sector out. I see that after the battle that my fleet 2 has ships that will cause me to lose points but I want to attack the base. Well, the typical way to do this is the send fleet 1 to fleet 2's coords and send the unnecessary ships to fleet 1, but what i did was send both fleets to the other's coords and the minute they hit the mid point, I type in identical coords. Then I sync the fleets, change ships, and send my fleet 2 to the enemy base. This cuts down the attack time by 30 mins! tats a lot in some cases

Now if you can calculate a flight path and ETA to any set of coords where 2 fleets can meet and continue to fly, that was be insane.
_________________
From the deepest depths of the Galaxy, a new
power is born.
Trained assassins ....Who strike down all who
oppose.
MASTERHUNTERS
~Blackmagic of Shadowball~
The Leader of the Best Alliance EVER!!!
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Wed May 02, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject:

blackmagic wrote:
Now here's an idea for you! Its a tactic I've used only a few times because its kinda hard to do.

I was able to trade ships in midflight after my ships were are different coords. This is a simplest way to cut down time to reconfigure your fleet. Say I attacked a base with my fleet1. My fleet 2 is 1 sector out. I see that after the battle that my fleet 2 has ships that will cause me to lose points but I want to attack the base. Well, the typical way to do this is the send fleet 1 to fleet 2's coords and send the unnecessary ships to fleet 1, but what i did was send both fleets to the other's coords and the minute they hit the mid point, I type in identical coords. Then I sync the fleets, change ships, and send my fleet 2 to the enemy base. This cuts down the attack time by 30 mins! tats a lot in some cases

Now if you can calculate a flight path and ETA to any set of coords where 2 fleets can meet and continue to fly, that was be insane.


We call that one an "inwarp ship upload/download" It also works for dropping ships off at a base or stationary fleet as well with the proper timing.
Calculating midpoint would be easier then calculating for integer coord points. Would be david's "department" though.
David's eventual goal is to automate this, ex a function to adjust the fleet headings until the coords match.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » Strategy » TTC_JS.html development.
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Solaris phpBB theme/template by Jakob Persson
Copyright © Jakob Persson 2003



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Impressum