Recent topics Log in
Search Profile
Memberlist Usergroups
Log in to check your private messages
Register
Vector Calculator Beta Version...
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » Strategy » Vector Calculator Beta Version...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:50 pm    Post subject: Vector Calculator Beta Version...
Reply with quote

Download from here...and unzip...

http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/VC.zip

This is a DOS level exe: to run it....get a dsp reading from your probes screen...

fleet x from xxx of xxx
1 1 1 1

447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;2.293;8.486

Make sure you get the 3 coordinates AND the 3 concealed vector components.

Then open the windows "run" from the start menu, use browse to locate the VC.exe and get that into the input box. Then paste the 3 coordinates, a space, followed by the delta vector components...in after the command line.

Ex. c:\spacetrace\vc.exe 447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;2.293;8.486

and run...2 seconds later.....

Colinearity search returned 3 results within 0.999 linearity and 0.1 sectors
Possible departure points:
Vector passes 0.004024 sectors from point 447/490/13
Possible destination points:
Vector passes 0.072557 sectors from point 490/498/43
Vector passes 0.055094 sectors from point 500/500/50
EXECUTION:960681

fleet course is 447/490/13 to 500/500/50....

The is very little error trapping so, avoid bad syntax that will crash the run...one error trap prevents vector calculation with any zero delta components...

EX:

c\spacetrace\vc.exe 447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;0;8.486

ZERO DELTA ENTRY DETECTED....
ZERO Y DELTA
VC ATTEMPT WILL RESULT IN RESULT OVERFLOW...ABORTING...
EXECUTION:971748

This is the basic engine for the VC...more will be added asap to link it to the probes window...

The "EXECUTION" is a left over item from debugging and will be removed later on.

Any questions: pm The Ghost of The West Coast or Reneé A Davis of The Pacific Rim ingame.

Credits:
C++, Assembler programming, routines, debugging : DavAlan
C++, PHP, JS, HTML programming, debugging: Reneé A. Davis

Reneé will post here later on concerning strategies to render this tracking ineffective the most obvious method being to have a zero delta on one or two axises giving the tracker the above error output

___
note by admin:
a stand-alone-javascript version is also in development:
http://www.spacetrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=71534

there is a copy of http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/VC.zip here:
http://www.spacetrace.com/addons/
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524


Last edited by DavAlan on Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:10 am; edited 3 times in total
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SkyFire
Captain
Captain


Joined: 29 Jan 2007
Posts: 121
Location: Slovenia

 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:42 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Wicked!
Big thanks for sharing!!!
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Dinskydude
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 18 May 2006
Posts: 854
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands, Europe, Earth

 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:53 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

*DD's head is exploding from all the numbers since it is hard for him to keep by even 2x2...*

*DD murmles something...*

Dave... Cool...
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:40 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

DavAlan wrote:
An AI is a much more complicated issue...I could spend a week trying to create an AI capable of say: sending out an investigation probe then building 3 1000 100 10 1's or similar and sending them to a random target in comm (and barely above the basics...this would not be hard to defend against). Reading dsp's, modifying stacks after running possible battle scenerios, and....the list goes on....is beyond most programmers, even the teams of experts in the corporate industry spend years in this area
AI programming is essentially a task that even requires assistance from...lol...psychiatrists...as human decision making must be disassembled, hacked, coded into an alogorythym, then to code, tested, debugged..., ..., ...

I will however work on a few php interfaces over the next few weeks...simple ones...perhaps an automation to keep fleet in motion and near the desired target without being present to change the courses...however I would still need to be logged on...

Dinsky's interface examples are actually feasible and could be done in reasonable time....


Combine all the above with that vc to proceed on and I think the AI intel would exceed 1/2 of ST's current players

I could imagine having some AI follow one of my fleets to a destination then, logging on to find a freed fleet slot...
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:54 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

great work; maybe you can finish the probes javascript with your knowledge:
http://www.spacetrace.com/javascripts/
it can be included directly in the game if you use internet explorer
see: http://www.spacetrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=45991#45991
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Knight of Truth
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 2011
Location: The Netherlands

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:22 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Errr... I dont get it. I get what it does, but the thing you have to is very very complicated...
_________________


MicroJak wrote:

For fuck's sake would you both please stop fucking swearing!!!!
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
T2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 1398
Location: Ontario

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:07 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Nice gift to the game !
Thank-you
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Senor
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 1112
Location: estonia

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:21 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

this will certainly bring some fresh air into the game.
could it be implemented into the game itself? or at least a link on the probe screen created for the new players who don't read forum.

very nice davalan
_________________
JOIN ENTITY!
tag: -=ONE=-
pass: one
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:48 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Knight of Truth wrote:
Errr... I dont get it. I get what it does, but the thing you have to is very very complicated...
i think Davalan will know how to use the probes.js script
at the moment it just reads the coordinates from the page and shows them in a popup, but if you know how to program C, it is easy to transform the calculations into javascript
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:31 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

admin wrote:
i think Davalan will know how to use the probes.js script
at the moment it just reads the coordinates from the page and shows them in a popup, but if you know how to program C, it is easy to transform the calculations into javascript


Ok we tried to link the vc.exe to run from the probe.js. Our problem now is: our ability to do an application call from HTML, JS, PHP, etc has been disabled (years ago) for security reasons.
EX. vc.exe could be an hd format utility which would screw everyone

Any exe's will have to be run from the SERVER instead of a client....

I tried to translate the vc c++ code to js but, those extensive loops run SLOW via the browser interpreter (and I mean slow....2 m into loading and I get warning msg's from the op sys on impending pc lockup).

David is reworking the vc alogarythym, attempting to reduce the looping in the calculations.

While he does this I am going to work on a new TCC (the hyperdrop calculator) which should run in JS fine as it does not use the extensive loops that the vc does.
_________________


Last edited by Renee Davis on Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:16 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Renee Davis wrote:
Ok we tried to link the vc.exe to run from the probe.js. Our problem now is: our ability to do an application call from HTML, JS, PHP, etc has been disabled (years ago) for security reasons.
EX. vc.exe could be an hd format utility which would *** everyone

Any exe's will have to be run from the SERVER instead of a client....


Actually, the command for running the vc.exe could merely consist of "format c:\" followed by a dos interupt to "auto-type" the "y" in response to: "Warning all data on non-removable drive c will be lost...continue? (Y or N)"
About 15 years ago when windows was in early development and replacing dos I thought that future "viruses" could be merely consist of long forgotten DOS commands being executed hmm....
Checking the programmers forums...every month or so someone will figure out a way to execute arbitrary commands on client pc's via html, js, php or etc. Then the next "win xp service pack" comes out to disable it. DavAlan loaded his 100th (?) win xp service pack yesterday as ms now has an auto update feature...reason for that update?....according to microsoft..."a bug allows execution of arbitrary commands on client pc's via the internet"
We will have an alternative availible in a month or so when our server goes back up...we could leave it on 24/7 as a side-server for running the exe's our code call up....
Working on that alogarythym asap....Reneé check your email...I sent a "ttc.js" source for you to proceed on....
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:36 pm    Post subject: VC update...
Reply with quote

vc.exe now writes the output as an html file and attempts to load it with a call to internet explorer. In order for this to work you will need to download the new exe and since we still have to add a file / directory search you will need to copy the iexplore.exe to c:\ (root directory). And create a directory c:\spacetrace which is where the html will be written to.
More will come asap
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dinskydude
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 18 May 2006
Posts: 854
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands, Europe, Earth

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:16 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I tried this a couple of times, it gives good results, like in your example... But how do i get the concealed vector components...?
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Dinskydude wrote:
I tried this a couple of times, it gives good results, like in your example... But how do i get the concealed vector components...?


When you highlight an entire dsp reading (those direction indicators and all), copy and paste it into notepad or a pm input box those direction indicators will show as the actual numerical vector components.

You will also have to cut out the empty lines in between the coordinates and those uncovered components to paste it into the vc.exe window run dialog.

An alternative is download the probes.js... http://www.spacetrace.org/javascripts/ ....to your c:\spacetrace directory, and set game directory to.. file://C:\spacetrace\ ...then when you load up the probes window any dsp readings on moving fleets will have a "calc" button next to it...click on that and a window will open up with the coords and components in the neccessary xxx/yyy/zz: xxx.xxx;yyy.yyy;zzz.zzz format and can be pasted in without having delete the whitespace.

That js script is what the vc will eventually use to operate from
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:04 pm    Post subject: Update posted
Reply with quote

tcc.exe now writes a link table, clicking on an output coordinate will send a command to list comm by the distance from the coordinate clicked on
This will happen in the right hand frame in your st window.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:29 am    Post subject: Re: Update posted
Reply with quote

Renee Davis wrote:
tcc.exe now writes a link table, clicking on an output coordinate will send a command to list comm by the distance from the coordinate clicked on
This will happen in the right hand frame in your st window.


Well that works so next addition will be a similar "center search" with the pre-warp list. Ready in 18h
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Update posted
Reply with quote

DavAlan wrote:
Well that works so next addition will be a similar "center search" with the pre-warp list. Ready in 18h


Lagging on that but, will be done in 6 hours or so, new html output will be the same down to the actual coord listings which with be:

For departures:
550/466/66---->Center in comm. list ----->Center in planets list
For Destinations:
550/466/66---->Center in comm. list ----->Center in planets list


In those colors. That fractional distance from the point will be omitted as it never exceeds .05 sectors anyway and is a floating point calc error we started listing for debugging purposes. The "center links" will perform that action with those coords in the right frame of the main st page.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:17 am    Post subject: Next update done
Reply with quote

OK, that is now done and works as hoped for uploaded update.

The links from the exe to st are now complete so, we will be working on running it from the probes.js script next, a more difficult task.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Update posted
Reply with quote

Renee Davis wrote:
The "center links" will perform that action with those coords in the right frame of the main st page.


Change that so the comm. search run in the left frame and planets in the right. Makes determination easier and faster. Also...may limit search range (down to x or y of 400 or up to 560 is probably over-doing it?)
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavAlan
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 762
Location: Palo Alto, California

 Post Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:21 pm    Post subject:

Next item Reneé adds to this will be an ability to set options and place an image into the background of the vc html output for customization by each player I am changing the code to accept one zero axis delta although this will get a long list of possibilities it will also get you a "liner course" to trace with an eye setup. A new TTC is in the works as well as more.
_________________
"Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » Strategy » Vector Calculator Beta Version...
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Solaris phpBB theme/template by Jakob Persson
Copyright © Jakob Persson 2003



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Impressum