View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
DavAlan Admiral
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Palo Alto, California
|
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:50 pm Post subject: Vector Calculator Beta Version... |
|
|
Download from here...and unzip...
http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/VC.zip
This is a DOS level exe: to run it....get a dsp reading from your probes screen...
fleet x from xxx of xxx
1 1 1 1
447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;2.293;8.486
Make sure you get the 3 coordinates AND the 3 concealed vector components.
Then open the windows "run" from the start menu, use browse to locate the VC.exe and get that into the input box. Then paste the 3 coordinates, a space, followed by the delta vector components...in after the command line.
Ex. c:\spacetrace\vc.exe 447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;2.293;8.486
and run...2 seconds later.....
Colinearity search returned 3 results within 0.999 linearity and 0.1 sectors
Possible departure points:
Vector passes 0.004024 sectors from point 447/490/13
Possible destination points:
Vector passes 0.072557 sectors from point 490/498/43
Vector passes 0.055094 sectors from point 500/500/50
EXECUTION:960681
fleet course is 447/490/13 to 500/500/50....
The is very little error trapping so, avoid bad syntax that will crash the run...one error trap prevents vector calculation with any zero delta components...
EX:
c\spacetrace\vc.exe 447.09/490.02/13.06 12.155;0;8.486
ZERO DELTA ENTRY DETECTED....
ZERO Y DELTA
VC ATTEMPT WILL RESULT IN RESULT OVERFLOW...ABORTING...
EXECUTION:971748
This is the basic engine for the VC...more will be added asap to link it to the probes window...
The "EXECUTION" is a left over item from debugging and will be removed later on.
Any questions: pm The Ghost of The West Coast or Reneé A Davis of The Pacific Rim ingame.
Credits:
C++, Assembler programming, routines, debugging : DavAlan
C++, PHP, JS, HTML programming, debugging: Reneé A. Davis
Reneé will post here later on concerning strategies to render this tracking ineffective the most obvious method being to have a zero delta on one or two axises giving the tracker the above error output
___
note by admin:
a stand-alone-javascript version is also in development:
http://www.spacetrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=71534
there is a copy of http://www.geocities.com/davalan47/VC.zip here:
http://www.spacetrace.com/addons/ _________________ "Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524
Last edited by DavAlan on Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:10 am; edited 3 times in total |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
SkyFire Captain
Joined: 29 Jan 2007 Posts: 121 Location: Slovenia
|
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wicked!
Big thanks for sharing!!! _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Dinskydude Admiral
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 854 Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands, Europe, Earth
|
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
*DD's head is exploding from all the numbers since it is hard for him to keep by even 2x2...*
*DD murmles something...*
Dave... Cool... _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
DavAlan wrote: | An AI is a much more complicated issue...I could spend a week trying to create an AI capable of say: sending out an investigation probe then building 3 1000 100 10 1's or similar and sending them to a random target in comm (and barely above the basics...this would not be hard to defend against). Reading dsp's, modifying stacks after running possible battle scenerios, and....the list goes on....is beyond most programmers, even the teams of experts in the corporate industry spend years in this area
AI programming is essentially a task that even requires assistance from...lol...psychiatrists...as human decision making must be disassembled, hacked, coded into an alogorythym, then to code, tested, debugged..., ..., ...
I will however work on a few php interfaces over the next few weeks...simple ones...perhaps an automation to keep fleet in motion and near the desired target without being present to change the courses...however I would still need to be logged on...
Dinsky's interface examples are actually feasible and could be done in reasonable time.... |
Combine all the above with that vc to proceed on and I think the AI intel would exceed 1/2 of ST's current players
I could imagine having some AI follow one of my fleets to a destination then, logging on to find a freed fleet slot... _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
admin Board Admin
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 2938
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Knight of Truth Admiral
Joined: 12 Jan 2006 Posts: 2011
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Errr... I dont get it. I get what it does, but the thing you have to is very very complicated... _________________ [img]http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/599/kot2ks1.jpg[/img]
MicroJak wrote: |
For fuck's sake would you both please stop fucking swearing!!!! |
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
T2 Admiral
Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 1398 Location: Ontario
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nice gift to the game !
Thank-you |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Senor Admiral
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 1114 Location: estonia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this will certainly bring some fresh air into the game.
could it be implemented into the game itself? or at least a link on the probe screen created for the new players who don't read forum.
very nice davalan |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
admin Board Admin
Joined: 09 Jan 2002 Posts: 2938
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight of Truth wrote: | Errr... I dont get it. I get what it does, but the thing you have to is very very complicated... | i think Davalan will know how to use the probes.js script
at the moment it just reads the coordinates from the page and shows them in a popup, but if you know how to program C, it is easy to transform the calculations into javascript |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
admin wrote: | i think Davalan will know how to use the probes.js script
at the moment it just reads the coordinates from the page and shows them in a popup, but if you know how to program C, it is easy to transform the calculations into javascript |
Ok we tried to link the vc.exe to run from the probe.js. Our problem now is: our ability to do an application call from HTML, JS, PHP, etc has been disabled (years ago) for security reasons.
EX. vc.exe could be an hd format utility which would screw everyone
Any exe's will have to be run from the SERVER instead of a client....
I tried to translate the vc c++ code to js but, those extensive loops run SLOW via the browser interpreter (and I mean slow....2 m into loading and I get warning msg's from the op sys on impending pc lockup).
David is reworking the vc alogarythym, attempting to reduce the looping in the calculations.
While he does this I am going to work on a new TCC (the hyperdrop calculator) which should run in JS fine as it does not use the extensive loops that the vc does. _________________
Last edited by Renee Davis on Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:47 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
DavAlan Admiral
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Palo Alto, California
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Renee Davis wrote: | Ok we tried to link the vc.exe to run from the probe.js. Our problem now is: our ability to do an application call from HTML, JS, PHP, etc has been disabled (years ago) for security reasons.
EX. vc.exe could be an hd format utility which would *** everyone
Any exe's will have to be run from the SERVER instead of a client.... |
Actually, the command for running the vc.exe could merely consist of "format c:\" followed by a dos interupt to "auto-type" the "y" in response to: "Warning all data on non-removable drive c will be lost...continue? (Y or N)"
About 15 years ago when windows was in early development and replacing dos I thought that future "viruses" could be merely consist of long forgotten DOS commands being executed hmm....
Checking the programmers forums...every month or so someone will figure out a way to execute arbitrary commands on client pc's via html, js, php or etc. Then the next "win xp service pack" comes out to disable it. DavAlan loaded his 100th (?) win xp service pack yesterday as ms now has an auto update feature...reason for that update?....according to microsoft..."a bug allows execution of arbitrary commands on client pc's via the internet"
We will have an alternative availible in a month or so when our server goes back up...we could leave it on 24/7 as a side-server for running the exe's our code call up....
Working on that alogarythym asap....Reneé check your email...I sent a "ttc.js" source for you to proceed on.... _________________ "Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524 |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:36 pm Post subject: VC update... |
|
|
vc.exe now writes the output as an html file and attempts to load it with a call to internet explorer. In order for this to work you will need to download the new exe and since we still have to add a file / directory search you will need to copy the iexplore.exe to c:\ (root directory). And create a directory c:\spacetrace which is where the html will be written to.
More will come asap _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Dinskydude Admiral
Joined: 18 May 2006 Posts: 854 Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands, Europe, Earth
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried this a couple of times, it gives good results, like in your example... But how do i get the concealed vector components...? _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dinskydude wrote: | I tried this a couple of times, it gives good results, like in your example... But how do i get the concealed vector components...? |
When you highlight an entire dsp reading (those direction indicators and all), copy and paste it into notepad or a pm input box those direction indicators will show as the actual numerical vector components.
You will also have to cut out the empty lines in between the coordinates and those uncovered components to paste it into the vc.exe window run dialog.
An alternative is download the probes.js... http://www.spacetrace.org/javascripts/ ....to your c:\spacetrace directory, and set game directory to.. file://C:\spacetrace\ ...then when you load up the probes window any dsp readings on moving fleets will have a "calc" button next to it...click on that and a window will open up with the coords and components in the neccessary xxx/yyy/zz: xxx.xxx;yyy.yyy;zzz.zzz format and can be pasted in without having delete the whitespace.
That js script is what the vc will eventually use to operate from _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:04 pm Post subject: Update posted |
|
|
tcc.exe now writes a link table, clicking on an output coordinate will send a command to list comm by the distance from the coordinate clicked on
This will happen in the right hand frame in your st window. _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
DavAlan Admiral
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Palo Alto, California
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:29 am Post subject: Re: Update posted |
|
|
Renee Davis wrote: | tcc.exe now writes a link table, clicking on an output coordinate will send a command to list comm by the distance from the coordinate clicked on
This will happen in the right hand frame in your st window. |
Well that works so next addition will be a similar "center search" with the pre-warp list. Ready in 18h _________________ "Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524 |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:49 pm Post subject: Re: Update posted |
|
|
DavAlan wrote: | Well that works so next addition will be a similar "center search" with the pre-warp list. Ready in 18h |
Lagging on that but, will be done in 6 hours or so, new html output will be the same down to the actual coord listings which with be:
For departures:
550/466/66---->Center in comm. list ----->Center in planets list
For Destinations:
550/466/66---->Center in comm. list ----->Center in planets list
In those colors. That fractional distance from the point will be omitted as it never exceeds .05 sectors anyway and is a floating point calc error we started listing for debugging purposes. The "center links" will perform that action with those coords in the right frame of the main st page. _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
Renee Davis 1st Rear Admiral
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 Posts: 298 Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District
|
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:17 am Post subject: Next update done |
|
|
OK, that is now done and works as hoped for uploaded update.
The links from the exe to st are now complete so, we will be working on running it from the probes.js script next, a more difficult task. _________________
|
|
Back to top » |
|
|
DavAlan Admiral
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Palo Alto, California
|
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:05 pm Post subject: Re: Update posted |
|
|
Renee Davis wrote: | The "center links" will perform that action with those coords in the right frame of the main st page. |
Change that so the comm. search run in the left frame and planets in the right. Makes determination easier and faster. Also...may limit search range (down to x or y of 400 or up to 560 is probably over-doing it?) _________________ "Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524 |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
DavAlan Admiral
Joined: 24 Aug 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Palo Alto, California
|
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Next item Reneé adds to this will be an ability to set options and place an image into the background of the vc html output for customization by each player I am changing the code to accept one zero axis delta although this will get a long list of possibilities it will also get you a "liner course" to trace with an eye setup. A new TTC is in the works as well as more. _________________ "Destruction leads to a very rough road
But it also breeds creation
And earthquakes are to a girl's guitar
They are just another good vibration
And tidal waves couldn't save the world
From Californication"
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Californication
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlUKcNNmywk
___________________________________
https://www.facebook.com/david.brass.524 |
|
Back to top » |
|
|
|