Recent topics Log in
Search Profile
Memberlist Usergroups
Log in to check your private messages
Register
scrambler
Post new topic   Reply to topic
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » All existing Technologies » scrambler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tec_server
Technology Bot
Technology Bot


Joined: 04 Nov 2002
Posts: 1721

 Post Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:03 pm    Post subject: scrambler
Reply with quote

scrambler (probe)


this probe sends out a distortion signal, that scrambles deep-scan-prodedata whithin its radius for 4 hours

scanradius: 5

speed: warp 10

researchtime: 1 d
buildingtime: 7 h


needed research:
improved computer technology
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:09 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Rubens wrote:
if the decloaking probe stop working it would be quite usefull to humans and e-rays(flagship and SS)
What happens if i send the scrambler probe to another scrambler probe? wich one would stop his work? Both?


Prometheus wrote:
If there are two radiation probes in one sector then they cancel each other out, they are both destroyed.


so the suggestion is that a scrambler scrambles /disables also the trace probe and decloaking probe
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
promethius2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 1840
Location: Éire

 Post Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:20 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

admin wrote:

so the suggestion is that a scrambler scrambles /disables also the trace probe and decloaking probe



Firstly Admin, let me thank you.
Your putting alot of Good work into the game, and you seem to be very active today.

This suggestion is great. Once again, I say add it.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

thx,

see also:
activated scrambler
steven1982 wrote:
When your scrambler arrives at the coords you want it to be, you will first have to activate it, else it wont scramble.
The nice thing is that when a scrambler arrives, it also provides you with a list of people who have a dsp within his scrambling range (2 sectors).
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:59 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

and here is the suggestion that it scrambles the oscillation probe too: http://www.spacetrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=15381

so what do you think?

should the scrambler be extended to all these new features?
or is it too mighty then?
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
promethius2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 1840
Location: Éire

 Post Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

admin wrote:
and here is the suggestion that it scrambles the oscillation probe too: http://www.spacetrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=15381

so what do you think?

should the scrambler be extended to all these new features?
or is it too mighty then?


Well the thing is Admin, there needs to be a weakness for every probe.
No doubt about that.
I think that the scrambler should be the probe to end all probes.
If you pick up a DSP, or a cloaking probe, it is time to send a scrambler.
_________________
Calvin: I'm a genius, but I'm a misunderstood genius.
Hobbes: What's misunderstood about you?
Calvin: Nobody thinks I'm a genius.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Renee Davis
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Lautem, Timor Leste - Lautem District

 Post Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:11 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

The decloaking probe is not disabled by the scrambler as that was tested out by switching one on then decloaking a fleet (which took a huge hit 2x in the last 2 days already for about 4k points). That'll teach em about leaving such things lying around

All in all this is an extremely useful device esp. for "buying time" when you got incomings by the disruption it creates.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
spacetrace
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2001
Posts: 1625

 Post Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:37 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

- we increased the radius to 5

- and when it has reached the target it scans for probes in that area, that will be scrambled and shows these
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:33 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

i think we could implement an extra time to the scrambler if you start it at your base, lets say 12 hours. if you start it anywhere else, it will keep only 4 hours.

then this probe woulndt be needed

got this idea from the invention "singularity probe"
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vyor
1st Rear Admiral
1st Rear Admiral


Joined: 11 Feb 2011
Posts: 218

 Post Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

sounds good
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
promethius2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 1840
Location: Éire

 Post Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:48 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I have a suggestion for the scrambler probe:

Rather than the scrambler reaching it's target and then becoming activated for 4 hours.

Perhaps we could change it so that the scrambler arrives at it's destination and does nothing until the person who sent it clicks a button to activate it?
_________________
Calvin: I'm a genius, but I'm a misunderstood genius.
Hobbes: What's misunderstood about you?
Calvin: Nobody thinks I'm a genius.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admin
Board Admin
Board Admin


Joined: 09 Jan 2002
Posts: 2934

 Post Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:29 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Isn't that exactly like it is already?
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
promethius2
Admiral
Admiral


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 1840
Location: Éire

 Post Posted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:35 am    Post subject:

It's been a long time....


I am noob
_________________
Calvin: I'm a genius, but I'm a misunderstood genius.
Hobbes: What's misunderstood about you?
Calvin: Nobody thinks I'm a genius.
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
SpaceTrace Forum Forum Index » All existing Technologies » scrambler
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Solaris phpBB theme/template by Jakob Persson
Copyright © Jakob Persson 2003



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Impressum